The ups and downs of marathon training

I must admit that when I agreed to do the London marathon, it was the height of summer. I was in the middle of training for tough mudder and was enjoying going running after work and on the weekends. It kind of skipped my mind that I would be training for the marathon over the winter! This has made is especially hard to motivate myself to go for a run when it’s pitch black outside when I get home from work. Despite this, I have persevered and really started to enjoy my night time runs with the help of some fetching reflective clothing and a flashing green light that attaches to my trainers!

I am also really enjoying exploring my local area on my runs. So far I have been running in Bushey Park, Richmond park, Horsell common, West end common, everywhere along the Thames path and a whole load of different routes around Walton on Thames and Weybridge. I love finding new routes with different terrain and pretty scenery.

I’ve become one of those people that you see out running bright and early on a Sunday morning looking really smug when you’ve usually got a terrible hangover or just have general Sunday blues. It’s so easy to hate those people when you’re out of shape but once you get into it, I’ve found it to be a great way to unwind and have some ‘me time’.

As far as my fundraising goes, I’ve got a lot of work to do but I definitely feel up to the challenge. I’m planning a pub quiz currently and am hoping to raise lots of money through online auctions. If you’d like to donate, it would be greatly appreciated. My fundraising page is here!

This is a picture of me before a long run at Richmond Park this week-

image.jpeg

I was so happy and optimistic! It was a tough uphill run though so I ended up looking like this….

image.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

